Charlene Harris 314-993-8847 or 800-329-8547
Sharon Riegel 678-615-7458 or 800-705-9410      
Book Fair/Event List

 Very First Reading   

Usborne Very First Reading is an exciting series of fifteen books for children who are just starting to learn to read. It offers:

  • the appeal of imaginative rhyming stories and irresistible illustrations

  • the support of a well-researched framework

  • the enjoyment of shared reading with an adultusborne very first reading

Watch a video about the set here.

More Info & Activities

Buy Here

 Usborne Reading Program Chart

42 page guide for Parents & Teachers

 The Usborne Reading Program

The Usborne Reading Program offers a huge choice of titles and topics for developing readers - fairy tales and folk tales, original fiction and classics, natural history, history and biography, including RE and citizenship - graded into seven levels.  Learn more about this program >>>

The seven reading levels

Fox and the Stork
First Reading Level One

Level One titles are designed to be the first real books a beginner reader will tackle, with very light support from an adult. Each book has a single story with six pages of reading-related puzzles.

Chilly Little Penguin
First Reading Level Two

Level Two stretch the reader a little more, with more advanced storylines, sentences and vocabulary, plus reading-related puzzles.

See all the Level One titles. See all the Level Two titles.
The Gingerbread Man
First Reading Level Three

Level Three titles have longer stories that encourage children to develop reading stamina. Stories have a strong element of repetition to help the reader gain confidence.

Princess Polly and the Pony
First Reading Level Four

Level Four titles build readers' stamina still further, with 48 pages devoted entirely to the story, more text on each page and more descriptive vocabulary.

See all the Level Three titles. See all the Level Four titles.
Young Reading Series One

Series One titles are for children just starting to read on their own. They use everyday vocabulary, and contain several short stories or one story divided into chapters.

Young Reading Series Two

Series Two titles are for children who are reading more confidently. Most titles contain a single story divided into chapters, with varied sentence lengths and more challenging vocabulary.

Story of Spying
Young Reading Series Three

Series Three titles are for fully confident readers who still need to gain the stamina for standard length books. They use advanced sentence structure and vocabulary, and have more complex plots.